Indian Phytopathological Society 

New Delhi


Award Result 2018-19

Declaration of Results of award (2018-19)

General Body approved the following names recommended in the EC meeting for following awards:

1. A.P. Misra Lifetime Achievement Award : Dr. M.N. Khare, Jabalpur

2. S.P. Raychaudhuri Memorial Award : Dr. B.P. Singh, former Director, CPRI, Shimla

3.  IPS Recognition  Award

  1. Dr. O.M. Bambawale (former Director, NCIPM, New Delhi), Nagpur

  2. Dr. Kamal, Gorakhpur

  3. Dr. N. Samajpati, Kolkata

  4. Dr. Udit Narain, Retd. Professor (Plant Pathology), CSAUAT, Kanpur, UP

  5. Dr. S.M. Reddy, Kakatiya University, Warangal, Andhra Pradesh

4.   Jeersannidhi Award: Dr. R. Selvarajan, ICAR-NRC for Banana, Tiruchirapali, Tamil Nadu

5.   S. Sinha Memorial Award*: Dr. Atul Kumar, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi

6.   K.C. Mehta and Manoranjan Mitra Award: Dr. M.P. Thakur, IGKV, Raipur, Chhattisgarh

7.   Mundkur Memorial Award: Dr. M.R. Khan, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh

8.   M.K. Patel Memorial Young Scientist Award: Dr. P.L. Kashyap, ICAR-IIWBR, RS, Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

9.   J.F. Dastur Memorial Award: Dr. Usha Chakraborty, University of North Bengal, Siliguri, West Bengal

10. J.P. Verma Memorial Award*: Dr. A.K. Gupta, Dr. YSPUH&F, Solan, Himachal Pradesh

11. Sharda Lele Memorial Award: Dr. Virendra Kumar Baranwal, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi

12. The following names  have been recommended for Fellow of Indian Phytopathological Society (FPSI)

1. Dr. Pankaj Baiswar, ICAR RC for NEH Region, Umiam, Meghalaya

2. Dr. T. Prameela Devi, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi

3. Dr. Sanjeev Kumar, JNKVV, Madhya Pradesh

4. Dr. Jayanta Tarafdar, BCKV, Kalyani, West Bengal

5. Dr. Srikanta Das, BCKV, Mohanpur, West Bengal

6. Dr. A.I. Bhat, ICAR-IISR, Calicut, Kerala

7. Dr. T.K. Bag, ICAR-IAR, New Delhi

8. Dr. Nasim Ahmad, ICAR-NCIPM, Pusa Campus, New Delhi

9. Dr. Subrata Dutta, BCKV, Kalyani, West Bengal

10. Dr. B.K.M. Laxmi, Vegetable Res. Station, Hyderabad, Telanganan

11. Dr. K.B. Pun, ICAR-National Rice Research Station, Hajo, Assam

12. Dr. Lakshman Prasad, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi

13. Dr. R.N. Pandey, Anand Agricultural University, Anand, Gujarat

14. Dr. P. Srinivas, Central Horticultural Experiment Station (IIHR), Bhubaneswar, Odisha

15. Prof. Asha Sinha, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh

13. “MJ Narasimhan Medal Award” for best research paper published in Indian Phytopathology

On the basis of marks given by Award Screening Committee the award recommendation committee has also recommended the following papers as “MJ Narasimhan Medal Award” for best research paper published in Indian Phytopathology during the year 2012-16


Title of the paper


Vol./Page No.


In planta distribution, accumulation, movement and persistence of Citrus tristeza virus in citrus host

A. Tarafdar, P.D. Ghosh and K.K. Biswas

65(2): 184-188


Utilization of plant growth promoting bacillus strains isolates for the management of bacterial wilt incidence in tomato caused by Ralstonia solanacearum race 1 biovar

Dinesh Singh, D.K. Yadav, Shewta Singh and B.K. Upadhyay

65(1): 18-24


Molecular detection of begomoviruses associated with a new yellow leaf crumple disease of cucumber in Maharashtra, India

L.M. Suresh, V.G. Malathi and M.B. Shivanna

66(3): 294-301


Epidemiological analysis of the damage potential of Pgt-Ug99 in Central East, North East Africa, Iran and Punjab (India)

S. Nagarajan, K.H. Kogel and J.C. Zadoks

67(1): 26-32


Characterization of phytoplasmas associated with sesame (Sesamum indicum) phyllody disease in North India utilizing multilocus genes and RFLP analysis

Sajah Un Nabi, Madhupriya, Durgesth Dubey, G.P. Rao, V.K. Baranwal and P. Sharma

68(1): 112-119


Characterization and genetic diversity of Xanthomonas campestris pv. Campestris causing black rot disease in crucifers in North India

Priyanka Singh Rathour, Dinesh Singh and Richa Raghuwanshi

69(2): 114-118

14. Prof. M.J. Narasimahan Academic Merit Award

This year total 12 contestant participated in this contest from different zones. The judging committee recommended the name of Mr. V. Kavi Sidharthan, Division of Plant Pathology, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi as winner for Prof. M.J. Narasimahan Academic Merit Award for presentation of the paper entitled “Selection of a compatible biocontrol consortium for the management of Fusarium wilt of tomato”. However, the following names were recommended for Commendation award:

S.No. Name 

Title of the paper 


Mr. Nandan, M., College of Agriculture, University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK, Bengaluru 

Isolation, characterization and evaluation of fungal endophytes as potential bio control agents on Sclerotium rolfsii Sacc. Infecting Capsicum annuum L.

Mr. Prabu Gnanasekaran, Molecular Virology Laboratory, School of Life Sciences, JNU, New Delhi

A geminivirus betasatellite encoded βC1 protein interacts with PsbP and subverts PsbP-mediated antiviral defense in plants

15. APS Travel Sponsorship Award

The following 5 names have been recommended for this travel grant sponsorship. The abstract and biodata of the selected candidates has been sent to APS for recommendation.

Rank Name 

Title of the paper 

Miss. Ranima Mishra, Department of Plant Pathology, Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat 785013, Assam, India

Purification, electron microscopy, antisera production, serodiagnostics and molecular characterization of Potato virus Y (PVY) causing severe mosaic of potato 

Ms. Savita V Patil, Department of Biotechnology, School of Sciences, Jain University, Bengaluru

Antioxidant-mediated survival strategy in primed ragi plants against blast disease


Mr. Devanshu Dev, Department of Plant Pathology, College of Agriculture, G B Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, Uttarakhand

Pathogenic Characterization of Albugo candida isolates the cause of White Rust Disease in Rapeseed-Mustard


Mr. Suraj Goldar, Department of Plant Pathology, Bidhan Chnadra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur-741252

Effect of soil abiotic factors and cropping system on Sclerotium rolfsii disease conducive/suppressiveness


Ms. Sarbani Das, Department of Plant pathology, Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur 741252, West Bengal 

Characterization and expression of Fungicides induced novel Pathogenesis Related Protein 1 (PR1) gene in tomato (Solanum lycopersicum) cv. Pathar Kuchi

16. K.P.V. Menon Best Poster Award

The judging committee recommended the following names for Prof. KPV Menon Best Poster Award: 

Rank Name 

Title of the paper 


Dr. Kuldeep Talukdar and L.C. Bora

Arsenic bioremediation using Arsenic resistant bacteria from agricultural soil of Assam 
Commendation award

Vinod Upadhyay, K.P.S. Kushwaha and Puja Pandey

Management of Uromyces viciae-fabae (Pers.) J. Schrot. in Pisum sativum L. through alteration in sowing time 
Commendation award P. Akash, Shinde Nikhil D., Toshy Agrawal, Anil S. Kotasthane, Najam Waris  Zaidi and U.S. Singh Identification of potential Fluorescent Pseudomonas isolates inducing drought tolerance in rice and wheat